Joseph Jacobs

English Fairy Tales

Listen in app
Joseph Jacobs (29 August 1854 – 30 January 1916) was an Australian folklorist, translator, literary critic, social scientist, historian and writer of English literature who became a notable collector and publisher of English folklore.
He published his English fairy tale collections: English Fairy Tales in 1890 and More English Fairy Tales in 1893 but also went on after and in between both books to publish fairy tales collected from continental Europe as well as Jewish, Celtic and Indian fairytales which made him one of the most popular writers of fairytales for the English language.
The author himself states that it was his intention to create a book in which the stories would sound as if they were being narrated by an old nurse or grandmother. Hence, the style is simple, direct and like he states, meant to be read aloud and not visually. The original edition also included extensive notes on the source from which he collected the stories and reference material which is of great interest to folk-lore enthusiasts.
Our collection of audio books includes the following Fairy tales of Joseph Jacobs: Tom Tit Tot, The Three Sillies, The Rose-Tree, The Old Woman and Her Pig, How Jack Went to Seek His Fortune, Mr. Vinegar, Nix Nought Nothing, Jack Hannaford, Binnorie, Mouse and Mouser, Cap O’ Rushes, Teeny-Tiny, Jack and the Beanstalk, The Story of the Three Little Pigs, The Master and His Pupil, Titty Mouse and Tatty Mouse, Jack and His Golden Snuff-Box, The Story of the Three Bears, Jack the Giant-Killer, Henny-Penny, Childe Rowland, Molly Whuppie, The Red Ettin, The Golden Arm, The History of Tom Thumb, Mr. Fox, Lazy Jack, Johnny-Cake, Earl Mar ’s Daughter, Mr. Miacca, Whittington and His Cat.
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)